Chair: Gareth Thomas MP

Gareth Thomas MP is the current Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Mutuals. Prior to being elected as Labour and Co-operative MP for Harrow West, he was a teacher and a local councillor. In his twenty years in parliament, he has served as a minister at the Department of International Development, as well as being a consistent advocate for the mutual sector, having served as the Chair of the Co-operative Party since 2000, and steering the Industrial and Provident Societies Act through Parliament in 2001.

Lord Naseby

Lord Naseby has been a Conservative member of the House of Lords since 1997. Prior to that, he was MP for Northampton South since 1974, and served as Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons for five years. Before entering parliament, he was Leader of Islington Council. In 2015 Lord Naseby took his Mutuals Deferred Shares Bill through Parliament. The Act permits friendly societies and mutual insurers to raise additional Tier 1 capital without threatening their mutual status.

Baroness Maddock

Baroness Maddock is a Liberal Democrat peer. Having previously worked as a teacher, she entered the House of Commons in 1993 as MP for Christchurch at a by election. For the past twenty years, she has been a member of the House of Lords, and has also served as the President of the Liberal Democrats in this period.

Adrian Bailey MP

Adrian Bailey MP has been the Labour and Co-operative MP for West Bromwich West since 2000. Before entering parliament, he had been Deputy Leader of Sandwell Council, as well as a Co-operative Party regional organiser. In his time as an MP, he has served on several spells on the Business Select Committee.

Lord Goddard of Stockport

Lord Goddard has been a Liberal Democrat peer since 2014. Previously, he served as a member of Stockport Council for twenty-two years, including five as its leader, as well as working as an engineer, first with British Gas, then as part of his own company.

Jim Shannon MP

Jim Shannon MP is the Democratic Unionist MP for Strangford, having been first elected in 2010. Prior to this, he represented the same constituency in the Northern Ireland Assembly for twelve years, as well as having been a member of the Northern Ireland forum, and a councillor in Ards Borough. Since entering parliament, he has served on the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee, and has served as the DUP spokesperson in areas such as Health, Transport, and Human Rights.

Lord Sheikh

Lord Sheikh has been a Conservative member of the House of Lords since 2006. Prior to this, he was Chairman and Chief Executive of Camberford Law PLC, one of the UK’s largest insurance brokers, and has held several prominent positions within the insurance sector.

Lord Bird

Lord Bird has sat in the House of Lords as a crossbench peer since 2015. He is best known for his work in tackling poverty, having founded the Big Issue magazine in 1991, which has invested in hundreds of social enterprises across the country. He has also served as a government Social Enterprise Ambassador.

The group currently has over one hundred members. A full membership list can be found below:

  • Sir David Amess MP
  • Ian Austin MP
  • Richard Bacon MP
  • Adrian Bailey MP
  • Henry Bellingham MP
  • Bob Blackman MP
  • Sir Peter Bottomley MP
  • Graham Brady MP
  • Christopher Chope MP
  • Sir Edward Davey MP
  • Marsha de Cordova
  • Anneliese Dodds
  • Stephen Doughty MP
  • David Drew MP
  • Clive Efford MP
  • Chris Evans MP
  • Bill Esterson MP
  • Frank Field MP
  • Suella Braverman MP
  • Mike Gapes MP
  • Mark Garnier MP
  • Ruth George MP
  • Roger Godsiff MP
  • John Grogan MP
  • Mark Hendrick MP
  • George Howarth MP
  • Christine Jardine MP
  • Ranil Jayawardena MP
  • Graham Jones MP
  • Norman Lamb MP
  • Jeremy Lefroy MP
  • Chris Leslie MP
  • Ian Lucas MP
  • Conor McGinn
  • Alex Norris MP
  • Chi Onwurah MP
  • Kate Osamor MP
  • Jo Platt MP
  • Luke Pollard MP
  • Lucy Powell MP
  • Lee Rowley MP
  • Jeremy Quin MP
  • Jonathan Reynolds
  • Marie Rimmer MP
  • Jim Shannon MP
  • Barry Sheerman MP
  • Gavin Shuker MP
  • Gareth Snell
  • Alex Sobel MP
  • John Stevenson MP
  • Graham Stringer MP
  • Julian Sturdy MP
  • Gareth Thomas MP
  • Matt Western MP
  • Alan Whitehead MP
  • Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top
  • Lord Balfe of Dulwich
  • Lord Bird
  • Lord Campbell-Savours
  • Lord Clark of Windermere
  • Lord Colgrain
  • Lord Curry of Kirkharle
  • Earl of Erroll
  • Lord Flight
  • Lord Foulkes of Cumnock
  • Lord Fox
  • Lord German
  • Lord Goddard
  • Lord Gordon of Strathblane
  • Lord Grantchester
  • Baroness Hamwee
  • Lord Haskel
  • Lord Holmes of Richmond
  • Lord Hunt of Wirral
  • Lord Jones of Cheltenham
  • Baroness Kramer
  • Lord Kennedy of Southwark
  • Lord Lennie
  • Lord Liddle
  • Lord Mackay of Clashfern
  • Baroness Maddock
  • Lord Maude of Horsham
  • Lord McAvoy
  • Baroness McGregor-Smith
  • Lord McNally
  • Lord Mendelsohn
  • Lord Morris of Handsworth
  • Lord Naseby
  • Lord Newby
  • Lord Northbrook
  • Lord O’Neill Clackmannan
  • Baroness Prashar
  • Lord Rennard
  • Baroness Scott of Needham Market
  • Lord Sheikh
  • Lord Shutt of Greetland
  • Lord Skelmersdale
  • Baroness Smith of Basildon
  • Lord Storey
  • Baroness Taylor of Bolton
  • Baroness Thornton
  • Lord Touhig
  • Lord Triesman
  • Lord Wrigglesworth

Mutuo acts as the group’s secretariat. It is a leading advocate for all types of co-operatives and mutuals, and works to improve the business environment for the sector by:

• Communicating its priorities to decision makers
• Acting as an advocate to politicians and regulators
• Building links between mutual business leaders
• Developing new mutual businesses

Mutuo works with some of the largest mutual businesses in the world, to maximise their impact on the public policy agenda.

Tweets from Mutuo